After the elections in May 1999, the cabinet was formed with the following members


Mr. Mahendra P Chaudhry   

Prime Minister and Minister for Finance, Public Enterprise, Sugar Industry and Information

Dr. Tupeni L Baba   

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs and External Trade

Adi Kuini Speed   

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Fijian Affairs

Mr. Anand Kumar Singh   

Attorney General's Chambers and Ministry for Justice

Mr. Poseci Bune   

Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries, Forests & ALTA

Adi Koila Nailatikau   

Minister for Tourism and Transport

Mr. Anup Kumar   

Minister for Commerce, Business Development and Investment

Dr. Isimeli Cokanasiga   

Minister for Health

Dr. Ganesh Chand   

Minister for National Planning, Local Government, Housing and Environment

Mr. Shiu Sharan Sharma   

Minister for Works and Energy

Mr. Ponipate Lesavua   

Minister for Youth, Employment Opportunities & Sports

Mr. Meli Bogileka   

Minister for Communication and Civil Aviation

Mr. Jioji Uluinakauvadra   

Minister for Home Affairs

Mrs Lavenia Padarath   

Minister for Women, Culture and Social Welfare

Mr. Pratap Chand   

Minister for Education

Rati Tevita Momoedoneu   

Minister for Labour, Industrial Relations and Immigration

Ratu Mosese Volavola   

Minister for Lands and Mineral Resources

Ratu Manoa M. Bale   

Minister for Regional Development and Multi-Ethnic Affairs



Ratu Isireli Vuibau   

Assistant Minister for Fijian Affairs

Dr. Gunasegaran Goundar   

Assistant Minister for Health

Mr. John Ali   

Assistant Minister for Housing and Transport

Adi Ema Tagicakibau   

Assistant Minister, Prime Minister's Office

Mr.Lekh Ram Vayeshnoi   

Assistant Minister for Information

Mr. Gaffar Ahmed   

Assistant Minister for Home Affairs




People's Coalition Government - Fiji Islands
Last update: August 27, 2001